As a life long Christian, I never would have thought this Jewish holiday would hold any significance for me until this year. Yet this is where my year of living biblically has led me. Here are three joyful reasons to follow our Messiah's example on Hanukkah.

Jesus Participated in Hanukkah

I've been a Christian my entire life. Yet somehow I absolutely never knew that Jesus played any part in Hanukkah whatsoever! In fact, I never even knew the word exhisted anywhere in the bible. Hanukkah means 'dedication' in english and Jesus made a special trip during the winter to attend this minor Jewsih festival according to the gospel of John.

Then came the Festival of Dedication at Jerusalem. It was winter and Jesus was in the temple courts walking in Solomon’s Colonnade. John 10:22-23

Jesus Spoke Enlightening Words During Hanukkah

It is significant to me as a Christian that Jesus chose the occasion of Hanukkah to declare his divinity. As the temple goers gathered around Jesus they impatiently asked "How long will you keep us in suspense? If you are the Messiah, tell us plainly". Jesus answered the following enlightening words of hope and assurance for all that hear and follow his word.

I did tell you, but you do not believe. The works I do in my Father’s name testify about me, but you do not believe because you are not my sheep. My sheep listen to my voice. I know them and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish. No one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all. No one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. I and the Father are one. John 10:25-30

Hanukkah Is So Fun!

Yes I am Christian and I joyfully celebrated Hanukkah this year for the first time with my family. Every night our son was super excited to light a candle on the menorah. Blowing out the shamash every night was just as fun for him as lighting the candles. He got to open one of his Christmas presents during Hanukkah but it really wasnt about the presents at all. We made star and menorah shaped cut out cookies together and ate rasberry filled donuts. Yum!

We also talked about the story of Hanukkah and commemorated the importance of being faithful to God's word even in the face of persecution. Continue learning about Hanukkah's significance for Christians here.

I know this new holiday addition has been a complete blessing for my own spriritual life and for my son. May God bestow his blessings on all of his children this holiday season.

Happy Holidays!

Hanukkah